The World Pizza Championship

The World Pizza Championship is an event held every year to determine the world's best pizza makers. It began in 1991 and is organized by the magazine Pizza e Pasta Italiana and PizzaNew. In 2008, over 20 countries competed Pizzas are judged by preparation, taste, bake and presentation. Pizza competitions include: fastest pizza maker, freestyle acrobatics, and the largest dough stretch. Salsomaggiore Terme (Parma), Italy, is the site of the championships, although several other cities likewise claim to be the home of the ultimate international pizza games including Naples and Paris.

One of the main attractions to the championship is the presence of Miss Italy, who crowns the winning pizzaiolos.

In 2006 the American Pizza Team - "The World Pizza Champions" won 6 medals at the World Pizza Championship. The team won the Gold Medal in the Team Acrobatic competition, while individual members (Siler Chapman, Giorgio Giove, Michael Shepherd, Bruno DiFabio) captured silver and bronze awards in Individual Acrobatic, Largest Dough Stretch, Fastest Pizza Maker, and also the Best Pizza of North America.

In 2009, the U.S. Pizza Team won the silver for team acrobatics and 3rd place in individual acrobatics in Salsomaggiore Terme. From the U.S. Pizza Team, Juan Hermosillo took home the bronze in acrobatics, while Ryan LaRose placed among the top 6 spinners in the world. First place in freestyle individual and team acrobatics went to team Salento, one of the many Italian pizza teams.